How To Block Someone On Instagram: Hey there 😉 As addictive as social media may be, it has its bad sides too. Bullying doesn’t happen in class only, it also happens online.
Cyberbullying is easier to curb if you know what to do. This is one of the reasons you are out to learn how to block someone on Instagram.
It may be an ex who wouldn’t think twice dming* you with annoying “Take me back” topics. It could also be that this particular person keeps posting annoying photos or disgusting videos.
Unfollowing the person will do, but Instagram keeps suggesting the person to you or shows his or her post in your discover area.
Well, this post is for you. Before we go into this topic, see some common questions, you could use the table of content below to skip to the main topic.
Frequently Asked Questions About Blocking People On Instagram
This are some frequently asked questions, read this section to get conversant with Instagram blocking rules.
When someone blocks you on Instagram do their messages disappear?
No, it doesn’t, if you mean previous messages they’ve sent to you, No it won’t go. It will still be visible in your inbox.
Can I still follow someone on Instagram if I block them?
No, you can’t. You blocking them is automatically unfollowing them. If for instance its a private account you blocked, the moment you block them, you’ve unfollowed them,
to follow them back, you’ll need to unblock them and send the followers request again. The same happens for a public account, thou the isn’t a follower request in a public account.
What does it look like when someone blocks you on Instagram?
If someone blocks you on Instagram, you wouldn’t be able to see their post, if you try searching for their name on Instagram, it won’t show even if you spelled it correctly.
If by chance you come across their old comments, and you click to view their profile, you’ll be able to see the number of posts they’ve made but won’t find the posts in its section.
Can you message someone who blocked you on Instagram?
No, you can’t. If you send the message, Instagram shows it has been sent, but the message won’t be delivered to them. The moment he/she unblocks you, the messages will appear.
Can the person who blocked me on Instagram still see my profile?
Yeah! They can. He/she will be able to see your profile, see your post, etc but won’t be able to comment or like any of your posts.
Does it say “user not found” when someone blocks you on Instagram?
No, this means one of these three things
- The user has been banned by Instagram
- The user has disabled or deactivated their account.
- The user must have changed their username.
When someone blocks you, it is pretty hard to find their account.
Can you temporarily block someone on Instagram?
Well, blocking somebody is permanent for as long as you leave the person blocked. That is, they stay block if you want them blocked and will be unblocked when you unblock them.
If your plan is to temporarily block them, it is best you mute their accounts and/or block them from commenting or liking your posts.
How do you block someone on Instagram without them knowing?
You just block them. Instagram won’t snitch on you. People you block don’t get notified that you’ve blocked them. So, go ahead and block them, they won’t know.
What happens if you block someone on Instagram?
When you block someone on Instagram they will be unable to see your post, profile, and story. In fact, when you block them, they will be unable to find your account from the search option.
If you’ve ever left a comment on their profile or on any account you mutually follow, the person can follow your profile from there.
On getting to your profile, he/she will be greeted by your profile pics, number of followers and following, number of posts BUT he/she won’t be able to see your posts itself.
The above criteria apply if your account is public, if it is private, they’ll see almost nothing.
Can You Be Tagged And Mentioned In A Blocked Person’s Post?
Heck yeah! The person can mention you on his or her posts, tag you to comments BUT, you won’t be notified.
Can Who You Block Be Able To See My Activities
Yes! Blocking is a personal thing, i.e the blocking feature is for you. If you block Account A, A will still see your comments and likes on an account you mutually follow or an account that is public.
Does A Blocked Person’s Likes And Comments Disappear Your My Posts?
No, it doesn’t. You can go to each comment or and delete it. Learn how to delete Instagram comments here.
Can I See A Blocked Account?
Yes, you can, BUT you’ll be greeted with a “No Post Yet” message, even if the person has posted there. In place of the “Follow” button, you’ll see “Unblock“.
You won’t be able to view the blocked account’s stories, followers, number of posts, etc.
How Do I Make My Instagram Account Private
You can tackle issues on Instagram by making your account private. Follow this link to see how to private your Instagram account.
General Way To Block Someone On Instagram
Whether using the Instagram mobile application or the web app(pc) the general way to block an Instagram account is;
User’s Profile > Menu > Block
How To Block Someone On Instagram Mobile App
In detail, this is how to block an account. These steps will work for both Instagram for iOS and Android.
Open your Instagram application; From your app tray or list, locate and open the Instagram app.
If its someone you follow, you can go to your “following” list and click on their username.
If you don’t follow the account, you could go to the Instagram search tab, type the username and Select it, don’t worry, you won’t be seeing the name after this.
In the upper right corner of your screen are three horizontal dots ⋯, click on this to reveal a pop-up menu.
On the list, the “Block” option will present itself in bright red colors. Click on this annihilation button.😉
Don’t worry, they won’t know you’ve blocked them, if you want to Unblock them, you can still do theses. (There’s more to this, start the post from the beginning to see other FAQ)
Instagram will ask you to confirm the “block” in a pop-up window. Click on “Block” again.
A pop-up window shows a confirmation message, click on “Dismiss“.
To confirm the block yourself, the button that usually shows “Message” or “Follow” will be replaced by “Unblock“.
The account will reload and 90% of the profile details won’t be available.
How To Unblock An Account On Instagram Mobile App
If in future you change your mind and decide to unblock them, this is how.
Search for the account you blocked from the search tab.
Open their profile.
The “Unblock” button will be presented to you in a blue box.
Click on it.
How To Block An Instagram Account With The Web App(Desktop browser)
Open Instagram official site https://www.instagram.com/
If it’s an account you follow, go to your ‘Following‘ list and locate the account.
If you don’t, from the ‘Search‘ tab, search and select the account.
In the user’s profile, at the top right corner close to the profile icon are three horizontal dots ⋯, click on this to display the pop-up menu.
From the menu, locate and select the ‘Block This User‘ option.
It is usually at the center of the menu.
Instagram pop’s up a confirmation message, click on “Block“. The next pop-up click on “Dismiss“.
You’ll know you’ve successfully blocked the contact when you see the “Unblock” option in blue.
The account reloads and their profile details are hidden.(There’s more to this, start the post from the beginning to see other FAQ)
How To Stop Someone From Commenting On Your Instagram Post
This is more of a ban than a block, here you don’t completely block the person but ban him/her from commenting on your post.
The methods below are similar on both the Instagram mobile app and from a desktop browser.
Before this, have the username or account name you wish to block written or in your head.
Launch your Instagram app or open the Instagram official site on your PC browser.
Open YOUR Instagram profile by clicking the profile icon at the lower right.
Click on the three vertical lines ☰ at the top right side of your profile.
A menu slides in, look down to find the ‘Settings‘ icon. It is mostly represented by a gear ⚙️ icon. Click on this.
If you find the “Comment” option, good, go to Step 6. If you don’t, click on “Privacy“.
Click on “Block Comments From“.
In the search box given, type in the name or username of the account you wish to block.
On the far right side is the “Block” button, click on this.
You can stop that embarrassing pervert and/or spammer from commenting on your post.
Did it work out for you? How about you share this article and drop a comment below.
Thanks for reading.