How To Delete A Facebook Group: It’s time to pull the plug, you are an admin of this particular Facebook group and it’s time for you to pull the plug on it. You and friends are tired of the group or you wish to move to a new group.
They are very many reasons for you to delete A Facebook group just like deleting a facebook page. Before you press the Nuclear annihilation button, I’ll love to suggest a method or an easier way.
Deleting a Facebook group is kind of tedious and an extreme, you could settle for “Archiving” the Facebook group instead. This is a kind of suspension and way different from deleting an FB group, more about this below.
Should I Archive Or Delete My Facebook Group?
Before I show you the difference between archiving and deleting a Facebook group, this is my suggestion for you.
If your Facebook group has important and evergreen articles or posts, it is better you archive it, going this way, existing users will be able to access these old articles.
If the group and its posts are no longer needed, it is best you delete it.
Features Involved In Archiving A Facebook Group
Archiving a Facebook group is a reversible decision that can be carried out by any group admin. Below are what happens when you Archive an FB group.
- An Archived FB group closes it to discussions in it.
- It will be frozen but with an option to be defrosted.
- Existing members can still visit an archived Facebook group.
- Members won’t be able to post, comment or upload any media to an Archived FB Group.
- Posts made prior to the group being Archived will be visible to existing members.
- An archived group won’t show up in Facebook search results.
- Group admins won’t have access to editing any info in the archived group but can delete a post, remove and ban users.
- Existing members will be notified when the Facebook group is archived.
- The group will stay archived for as long as until it is unarchived.
- You can’t archive a Facebook group using a mobile Facebook app(iOS & Android)
Steps To Archive A Facebook Group
You can do this with a web browser only, it is best you with a desktop browser, if you are working with a mobile device, follow this trick to convert your Chrome/Puffin mobile browser to a desktop view.
Follow Step 1, then at the right corner of your screen are three vertical dots ⋮, click on this to open the dropdown menu, locate and toggle on the “Desktop View” or “Desktop Site” this should refresh the page. You now have your browser looking like a desktop browser.
Open the facebook official site https://www.facebook.com
If prompted to, log in to your Facebook account.
At the left corner of your screen is the “Explore” section.
Select the “Groups” option.
Select the group you wish to archive, you must be an admin in it. Check the “Groups you manage” section.
Below the group header, select the “More” drop-down menu.
The “Archive Group” option should be visible. Select this option.
If prompted, select the “Confirm” option to complete the Archive.
To bring the group out of its suspension 😉, follow the steps above but this time click on “Unarchive Group” then confirm it.
Features Involved In Deleting A Facebook Group
If any search engine brought you straight here, I strongly advise you start this article from the beginning to see better suggestions.
- This is a permanent decision and can’t be reversed.
- Only the original creator of the group can permanently delete the group.
- If the creator has deserted the group, any admin can delete the group.
- Users won’t be notified when a group is deleted.
- Depending on the number of members, deleting a Facebook group might be tedious.
Steps To Delete A Facebook Group On FB Mobile App
Unlike archiving, you can delete your Facebook group with both a mobile Facebook app and a desktop browser.
Delete A Facebook Group On Mobile Apps
Open your Facebook mobile application. If prompted, log-in to your Facebook account by filling in your registration details in the boxes provided.
Tap on the menu option, it is mostly represented by three vertical lines ☰. For Android or iPhones, it is mostly on the top-right or bottom-right corner respectively.
Select the “Groups” option. This is usually in the middle of the menu list.
Locate and select the group you wish to delete.
Below the group’s cover photo, select “Info“.
Select the “Members” option. It is usually in the middle of the page.
Remove each group member, be careful not to REMOVE YOURSELF.
Tap on a member’s name, an option list should pop up. If it doesn’t work this way, tap and hold an option list will pop up.
Select “Remove Member“.
When done removing all members, you leave the group. Tap on your own name or tap and hold, a menu pops up.
Select the “Leave Group” option.
Confirm it by clicking “Leave Group“
When you leave the group, the group automatically closes. It may take a while before your name leaves the member list.
This is IRREVERSIBLE.
Steps To Delete A Facebook Group On Desktop Browsers.
If you are accessing Facebook with a mobile device’s browser, follow this trick to convert your Chrome/Puffin mobile browser to a desktop view.
Follow Step 1, then at the right corner of your screen are three vertical dots ⋮, click on this to open the dropdown menu, locate and toggle
on the “Desktop View” or “Desktop Site” this should refresh the page. You now have your browser looking like a desktop browser.
Open Facebook official site below https://www.facebook.com.
If prompted, log-in by filling in your login details in the box provided.
From the explore section usually at the left column, click on Groups then locate and select the group you wish to delete.
Locate and select the “Members” option. This can be found on the upper-left side of the current page.
This shows you a list of all your group members.
Start removing each member from the group, be careful lest you remove yourself.
To the right of every member is a gear ⚙️ button, click on this and select the “Remove From Group” option.
Confirm when prompted.
After removing everybody, click on the gear ⚙️ option next to your name.
From the pop-up option that appears, click on “Leave Group“. A window pop’s up.
Click on “Leave and Delete“. It is a blue button.
This is IRREVERSIBLE.
I believe I was able to help you decide if you should Archive/Delete A Facebook Group, please share and drop a comment below.